PHM Planning Committee

The PHM20 Planning Committee is charged with the selection of the PHM20 educational content and creation of the schedule. The planning committee requests submissions for consideration each year. Once all proposals have been received, the planning committee is tasked with reviewing, scoring and selecting the submissions that will become the content for the conference. The PHM20 Planning Committee consists of three members of the Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM), three members of the Academic Pediatric Association (APA), and three members of the American Academy of Pediatrics Section on Hospital Medicine (AAP SOHM). The host society for the conference each year selects the Planning Committee Chair or Co-Chairs from its three members of the planning committee.


Jeffrey T. Grill, MD, FAAP

University of Louisville, Louisville, KY


Erin E. Shaughnessy, MD, MSHCM, FAAP

Phoenix Children’s Hospital, Phoenix, AZ


Jeremy M. Yardley, MD, FAAP

Eastern Maine Medical Center, Bangor, ME

The Committee

Yemisi O. Jones, MD, FAAP

Cincinnati Children’s Hospital, Cincinnati, OH

Michelle Marks, DO, FAAP

Cleveland Clinic Main Campus, Cleveland, OH

Francisco Alvarez, MD, FAAP

Stanford School of Medicine, Stanford, CA

Anne L. Andrews, MD, MS, FAAP

Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, SC

Geeta R. Singhal, MD, MEd, FAAP (Immediate Past Chair)

Texas Children’s Hospital, Houston, TX

Rachel L. Marek, MD

Texas Children’s Hospital, The Woodlands, TX